Skip to main content

Student Updates and Resources: Student Online Resources

Coronavirus Information

Motlow Cares

Emergency Aid for Students

Motlow College Foundation created a new fund to help students. The new fund is called Motlow Cares and the money will be used to help students with urgent needs in 4 specific areas as long as funding is available: 

  1. Utility bills
  2. Rent
  3. Food needs
  4. Internet access to support class attendance


Partnerships for the Lift
The Motlow College Foundation has partnered with Tennessee College Access and Success Network (TCASN) to help students who have no local options for internet by providing them with a Straight Talk mobile hotspot and gift card for 4GB of data for wireless internet access.  Students whose need for support is approved should receive the hot spot within 3 days. 
 
To apply for assistance: https://motlow.com/motlowcaresapply

 

Student Resources

Tutoring

  • Math LabThe Motlow Math Lab is a free service available to all Motlow students. It offers one-on-one sessions with knowledgeable, attentive tutors. Starting March 26 at noon, you can make online appointments with this link.
  • Writing Center: The Motlow Writing Center is a free service available to all Motlow students. It offers one-on-one sessions with knowledgeable, attentive tutors.
  • ESL (English as a Second Language) TutoringESL tutoring is a free service available to all Motlow students.

Do you have a reliable device?

If you are trying to complete your course assignments without a device or have device problems, we can help at support@mscc.edu. If your problem is about D2L, find help at d2lhelp@mscc.edu. We also have more than 200 devices available for check-out to students. If you are a student needing to check-out a device, call 931-393-1663 from 12-4 pm.

Counseling Services

  • Services supplied via Zoom Meeting Software.
  • Office hours are 8:00AM - 4:30PM Monday through Friday.
  • Email Alicia Pitts apitts@mscc.edu to schedule a meeting.
  • Email Lisa Stone lstone@mscc.edu to schedule a meeting.
  • If you find yourself in crisis, please call 1-800-274-7471. Text TALK to 741-741 for the crisis text line.
  • Virtual Recovery Resources

Disability Services

APPLY FOR DISABILITY SERVICES

Students that wish to apply for Disability Services at Motlow should:

  • Log into MyMotlow
  • Look under Student tab for Disability Services (should be at the bottom of the options list)
  • Complete the application and consent form making sure to submit both in order for our office to review them
  • An email notification will generate to the student alerting them that the application was submitted

Key points:

  • The Office of Disability Services will still schedule an interview with the student following the application
  • Prospective students who have not applied to the college or received an acceptance letter will need to contact our office directly for discussion of services
  • Any general questions can still be directed to our email

Contact

Reach us by TEXT at (931) 347-1699

If you’re working and can’t talk by phone, or maybe your internet goes down, you can still reach us by TEXT. Motlow has staff answering texts during regular business hours (M-F 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.).

Contact Information

Dual Enrollment Contacts

  • Sally Pack (615) 809-1257

  • Debbie Jennings (615) 900-0563
  • Lisa Bunde (931) 450-8007
  • Teal Lynch (615) 900-0617
  • Lisa Smith Sanders (Fayetteville) (931) 532-0075

Pre-registration for summer and fall 2020 courses begins Monday, April 6.

Please see the videos below for help accessing your GPS plan, registering for classes, and accessing your online classes via D2L.

How to Review/Print GPS and Academic Plan:
How to Register for Classes with Schedule Planner
How to Add or Drop Classes on MyMotlow:
How to Access D2L:

See the information below to contact your Completion Coach on your respective campus: 

Smyrna:

Erica Lee- elee@mscc.edu

Van Lomenick- vlomenick@mscc.edu

Angélica Dotson- adotson@mscc.edu

Veronica Mitchell- vmitchell@mscc.edu

Eric Murry- emurry@mscc.edu

Moore County:

Laura Brown- lbrown@mscc.edu

Roxanne Evans- revans@mscc.edu

Kyle Macon- kmacon@mscc.edu

McMinnville:

Nickie Fanning- nfanning@mscc.edu

Allen Sanders- asanders@mscc.edu

Fayetteville:

Josh Caldwell- jcaldwell@mscc.edu

 

*Remember to email your Coach from your Motlow student email (not D2L). 

 

Free WiFi

Free WiFi for Students

  • DTC Communications: DTC hotspots are available at offices in Woodbury, Smithville, Alexandria and Gordansville. Wifi is set to public at these locations.

  • Tullahoma LightTube: There are 70 public wifi hotspots located in the parking lots on Atlantic Street for student use. View Google Map of downtown Tullahoma free WiFi. Parking lots are under 24/7 camera surveillance.  Please maintain the social distancing guideline of a minimum of 6 feet apart.  Be aware that a shelter in place and curfew restriction is in effect and may affect these times.

  • Ben Lomand Connect: Ben Lomand Connect's corporate office in McMinnville is offering a free Wi-Fi hot spot in our lower customer parking area. All other offices (Sparta, Tracy City and Crossville) will have hot spots available and other hot spots throughout our territory will be announced soon.

  • Free Access to Global WiFi

  • Charter Communications - Free Internet for Students and Low-Income HouseholdsCable giant Charter Communications will provide free broadband for 2 months to households with students, as a number of U.S. schools are shutting down because of concerns about COVID-19. To enroll in Charter’s free broadband program, eligible consumers must call 844-488-8395. The company said it will waive installation fees for new student households. For eligible low-income households without school-aged children, Charter will continue to offer Spectrum Internet Assist, a low-cost broadband program that provides speeds of up to 30 mbps.

  • ComcastComcast is offering internet essentials package for free for 60 days.

  • Speedtest.netSpeedtest® by Ookla® is the definitive way to test the speed and performance of your internet connection.

  • Where to Find Free WiFi in Any Neighborhood By Trent Hamm of The Simple Dollar